Just got back from a wonderful weekend in Jerusalem. It is always such an interesting experience to get on a bus on the bottom of the mountain and get off of it in the bustling (and sort of disgusting) central bus station in Jerusalem. It is this really stark reminder of the urban poverty and social inequality that pervades this country (and the world) but seems so distant and unimaginable from Maale Gilboa.

On Thursday night I stayed at my friend Yitz’s house and had a really amazing and fun Thanksgiving dinner that he hosted. He invited tons of his Israeli friends from yeshiva (and other places) and made an incredibly turkey (I made stuffing for the first time in my life – didn’t come out too bad at all either). It was a lot of fun to celebrate Thanksgiving with a lot of Israelis for a number of reasons. Firstly, I was able to make up a different story for the history of the holiday every time I talked to somebody, and two it was basically much more of a cool chill party than a boring formal dinner. I also got to videochat with my entire family right before they went to their dinner in New York. It was so nice and just lovely to see all of their faces and all of them together. This time of year definitely makes me think about home and miss it a bunch so it was really great to see them. (Confession: I also miss the crappy Christmas music you hear all over America when it gets cold. My friends and I listened to a whole lot of it while making Thanksgiving food 🙂 )

During Friday night dinner I had a really interesting conversation that I have been thinking about basically ever since. The conversation was about the merits of the Charedi (ultra-Orthodox) world (among other things). A number of people were being very critical of the charedi world (to a large part rightfully so) critiquing their gender norms, their insularity along with many of their other values.

I somehow found myself in a rather strange position defending the charedi community despite the fact that I ultimately agreed with a lot of their critiques. I said that I felt that despite all of the strange – and at times offensive and oppressive – things that happen in the Charedi world, we more ‘modern’ ‘liberal’ and ‘tolerant’ Jews have a lot to learn from them.  I cited the amazing job that the ultra-Orthodox community does in taking care of marginalized people within their own community (the elderly and sick), how careful they are to not speak lashon harah (gossip about other people’s backs), and to return lost objects/not use other people’s property without their explicit permission.

As soon as I said that I saw the entire right side of the shabbat table jump out of their seats. People were not happy with me. The names of all of my favorite critical theorists were thrown at me, all of course ‘proving’ how wrong I was and how bad the charedi world is. Many of their critiques were of course correct so that didn’t bother me. What bothered me was what came after that. People wondered how dare I find value – or even search for value – in the Charedi lifestyle when it was so obviously immoral, disgusting, and backwards.

And then it sort of struck me. We live in this post-structuralist world where anybody and everybody can deconstruct and tear down any statement that somebody makes in order to show their inherent (or subconscious) rasicm/sexism/classism/whatever-ism-you-want. I can do it pretty easily (and probably spent too much of my time in college doing it.) What I realized is that while it is so easy to critique other people (and ourselves) to the thousanth degree – it is so much harder to search for the good amongst the bad.

I think that the challenge for people in my generation is no longer to be critical thinkers/intellectuals. That is easy. The challenge for us is to love. We (and I speak mainly of myself here) are probably too quick to judge and too slow to love. Part of loving somebody is that when you love them you accept them for all of their good things and their bad. You don’t leave them because they are flawed. Instead, we sort of overlook the minor flaws, try to correct the major flaws but what we really do is we focus on the good things – the components of these people that remind us of why we love them.

It seems to me that folks in our culture – myself very much included- could gain a lot  from trying to love more. Of course the ultra-Orthodox world has serious problems but if we tried to push ourselves to find the good within them we would probably grow and learn a tremendous amount from them.

I think however that this goes even farther, there is also real evil in the world and my sense (and I may and am probably wrong here but would love to hear people’s thoughts) is that if we pushed ourselves to try to love (if the language of love is too strong think of just trying to understand) the perpetrators of all of these ugly and horrible things – we would not only grow tremendously ourselves, but we would radically change the people and situations around us as well. (This is a more complicated point but for the sake of space won’t go in to it now – maybe later).

I hope this wasn’t too much of a crazy rant from a man on top of a mountain. Would love to hear people’s thoughts as always. Hope you’re all doing most excellently.

Lots of love,

Ariel